Vanderbilt University Heard Library
 
Admin Sign In 

Music Education 

Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/musiced  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started             Print Page
  
 

Info. About the Library

Music Library Hours:

Monday-Thursday, 8am-10pm

Friday, 8am-5pm

Saturday, CLOSED*

Sunday, 2-10pm

Location:

The second floor of the Blair School of Music, directly above the main office.  Blair is located on the corner of Children's Way and 25th.

 * Click here for a detailed schedule of library closings and select Saturday hours.

 

Reference Appointments

If you ever need help with research for this or any other course, contact one of the librarians to schedule an appointment. You can also call the Music Library's reference desk at 322-7695. Or, just drop by the reference desk any time the Music Library is open. We're here to help!

 

Library Quick Links

Anne Potter Wilson Music Library

ACORN

Jean and Alexander Heard Library

Interlibrary Loan

Music LibGuides

 
 

Research Tips

Start early! Give yourself plenty of time to track down the resources you need and to adjust or change your topic if necessary.

Be careful about the resources you use. Evaluate the currency, relevancy, accuracy and purpose of each source to determine its usefulness for your paper.

Remember to always cite your sources so that your reader can clearly tell which ideas are yours and which ones come from someone else. Using information from a source without citing it is considered plagiarism. Click here for links to the major style guides, including Chicago, APA, MLA, and Turabian. Chicago is the preferred style for music.

 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Oxford Music Online - This resource provides complete content from Grove Music Online, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music. This is a good place to look for general or background information when beginning research.

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. Located in the Music Library's Reference Section, ML 105 .B126 2001 v.1-6 This series is helpful for finding brief biographies of many performers, conductors, and composers. 

Reader's Guide to Music: History, Theory and Criticism. Located in the Music Library's Reference Section, ML 160 .R424 1999 This book contains articles on a wide variety of musical subjects. Each entry is accompanied by a list of resources on the topic, all in English.

 

Bibliographies and Research Guides

A Bibliography of Source Readings in Music Education - Vincent J. Kantorski, Warren, MI: Harmonie Park Press, 1997. Located in the Music Library's Reference Section, ML 113 .D477 no. 78 - Lists of readings in areas and topics including: Arts; Bibliographic Resources; Curriculum and Instruction; Foudations, Philosophy, and Aesthetics; Journals; Psychology; Research; and Reports, Symposia and Conferences.  

Music in American Higher Education: An Annotated Bibliography - By Edward Brookhart, Warren, MI: Harmonie Park Press, 1988. Located in the Music Library's Reference Section, ML 120 .U5 B524 no. 10 - Lists of resources divided by: General Non-Music Sources; General Music Sources; The Role of Music in Higher Education: Philosophy, Objectives, Curricula, Degrees; Students: Characteristics and Qualifications; Faculty; Administration and Accreditation; Histories and Historical Sketches of Individual Institutions; and Special Topics.

The Popular Music Teaching Handbook: An Educator's Guide to Music-Related Print Resources - By B. Lee Cooper and Rebecca A. Condon, Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2004. Located in the Music Library's Reference Section, ML 3470 .C66 2004 - Covers a wide range of resources on how to incorporate popular music into the classroom. Chapters include: Interdisciplinary Applications of Popular Music for Classroom Teaching Activities and Student Research Projects; Biographical Studies, Oral History, and Popular Music Personality Profiles for Classroom Investigation; Popular Music Styles and Dance Trends as Topics for Classroom Discussion and Student Research Projects; and Popular Music Reference Resources for Teachers, Librarians, Media Specialists, and Students.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) can be used to borrow items that are not owned by any of the Vanderbilt University Libraries. You will have to log in with your VUNetID and E-Password. Then you can choose which type of item you would like to request from the "Submit New Request" menu on the left  (choices include journal article, book chapter, book, music score, etc.).  Fill in the information on the form, and click on "submit."  It is often helpful to copy and paste the information from the bibliographic record in RILM, IIMP, etc. directly into this form.

Once your request has been placed, you can keep track of the ILL Department's progress in obtaining your item by logging in and viewing the "Outstanding Requests" box in the center of the page.  Once your item arrives at the Music Library, you will receive an e-mail.  If you requested a journal article, it will probably be delivered electronically.  Follow the instructions given in the e-mail.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageAnna Perkins
Contact Info:
2400 Blakemore Ave.
Nashville, TN 37212
615-322-7695
Send Email

Subjects:
Music Reference

 
Campus Libraries: Biomedical | Central | Divinity | Law | Management | Music | Peabody | Science & Engineering | Special Collections | TV News
Vanderbilt University | Phone Numbers/Addresses of Campus Libraries | Privacy Policy
Jean and Alexander Heard Library, 419 21st Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37203-2427
Telephone 615-322-7100 | Fax 615-343-8279
Description

  Loading content... please wait