Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Vanderbilt University Heard Library
 
Admin Sign In 

Sociology Resources  Tags: sociology  

Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

Getting Fulltext - Free

What is  ?

FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.

You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Acorn.

An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.

 

Periodicals Reading Room

New issues of print journals & newspapers are available in the Periodicals Reading Room on the 6th floor of the Central Library. 

This space is also a great place to study.

 

Finding Scholarly Articles

The following databases will help you find scholarly articles in Sociology:

  • Sociological Abstracts  
      
    The primary databases for Sociology. Soc Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • Gender Studies  
      
    This database "covers the spectrum of gender engaged scholarship" in both peer-reviewed journals and the more popular press and websites.
  • PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)  
      
    Covers current events, public policy issues, and the social sciences in general--including economic and social conditions, government and politics, and international relations.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Provides complete electronic backfiles of core journals in Sociology. NOTE: Will not contain the most recent 3-5 years worth of content. So if you need more current items, use Sociological Abstracts.
  • ProQuest  
      
    This general database provides access to articles in a wide range of magazines and journals. It includes general interest and news publications as well as selected scholarly journals.
  • Full list of Sociology Resources from Heard Library  
 

Popular or Scholarly??

Need help determining if the article you are looking at is considered 'scholarly'? 

View this award winning online tutorial (it's about 3 min. long...but may easily save you hours of time when you start your research!)

 
Campus Libraries: Biomedical | Central | Divinity | Law | Management | Music | Peabody | Science & Engineering | Special Collections | TV News
Vanderbilt University | Phone Numbers/Addresses of Campus Libraries | Privacy Policy
Jean and Alexander Heard Library, 419 21st Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37203-2427
Telephone 615-322-7100 | Fax 615-343-8279
Description

  Loading content... please wait