Connection Files for VU Resources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Vanderbilt University Heard Library
 
Admin Sign In 

EndNote and EndNote Web  Tags: bibliographic_management  

Last update: Sep 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/endnote  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Importing from Databases            Print Page
  
 

About Importing from Databases

Some databases don't have a feature that directly exports citations into EndNote.  Some of those same databases don't have connection files.  To import references from those databases into your EndNote library, you'll need to use import filters.

Hundreds of filters come shipped with EndNote; new and updated filters are available to download from the EndNote product site.

 

How Do I Use Import Filters?

Export a set of selected citations in a particular file format (e.g. a text [.txt] file), open an EndNote Library, then import the references into the library using the correct import filter.

  • Once you have your citations saved as a text file, select File > Import . . . from your EndNote menu bar.  Choose the file you want to import, change the Import Option to the import filter that fits the database from which you downloaded the citations, and click the Import button.
  • If you're using EndNote X2, this video tutorial may be of help. (Choose "Importing Text Files" from the left hand menu.)
  • If you're using EndNote X3, this video tutorial may be of help. (Choose "Importing Text Files" from the left hand menu.)
 
 

Getting Help

For EndNote training and support, contact one of the following library staff members:

Monica Bafetti (Biomedical)
Chris Benda (Divinity)
Ramona Romero (Central)
Joell Smith-Borne (Peabody)
Rick Stringer-Hye (Science)

....................

Assistance is also available from EndNote Tech Support on EndNote's Web site.

Want do-it-yourself training?  Try an online tutorial or Webinar.

 
Campus Libraries: Biomedical | Central | Divinity | Law | Management | Music | Peabody | Science & Engineering | Special Collections | TV News
Vanderbilt University | Phone Numbers/Addresses of Campus Libraries | Privacy Policy
Jean and Alexander Heard Library, 419 21st Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37203-2427
Telephone 615-322-7100 | Fax 615-343-8279
Description

  Loading content... please wait