Connection Files for VU Resources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Vanderbilt University Heard Library
 
Admin Sign In 

EndNote and EndNote Web  Tags: bibliographic_management  

Last update: Sep 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/endnote  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Connecting to Databases            Print Page
  
 

About Connecting to Databases

EndNote enables you to search certain online databases (mostly library catalogs, but also other databases) using its connection files/online search feature.  Items that you find can then easily be added to your EndNote library.

NOTE: The native search interfaces of many databases may provide more search options (e.g., ways to limit searches, ways to combine searches) than you get with connection files.

To use the connection files/online search feature, you need the appropriate connection files.  Some things to note about this:

  • EndNote comes with many connection files already.
  • New and updated connection files:  download from the EndNote product site.
  • Connection files for Vanderbilt resources:  see Connection Files That Work With Vanderbilt Resources (on this guide) for specially configured connection files that work with licensed Vanderbilt resources.  (Note:  except for the connection file for Acorn, these files are only available to current VU students, faculty, and staff.)
 

How Do I Connect to a Database?

  • Look for the Online Search icon on your EndNote toolbar.  Select it and choose the appropriate connection file.
  • If you can't find the icon, look for Connect . . . or Online Search . . . under Tools on the EndNote menu bar.
  • If you have EndNote X2, this video tutorial may be helpful. (Choose "Online Search" from the left hand menu.)
  • If you have EndNote X3, this video tutorial may be helpful. (Choose "Online Search" from the left hand menu.)
  • Don't see a connection file you'd be interested in having?  Please contact Rick Stringer-Hye or Chris Benda.
 
 

Getting Help

For EndNote training and support, contact one of the following library staff members:

Monica Bafetti (Biomedical)
Chris Benda (Divinity)
Ramona Romero (Central)
Joell Smith-Borne (Peabody)
Rick Stringer-Hye (Science)

....................

Assistance is also available from EndNote Tech Support on EndNote's Web site.

Want do-it-yourself training?  Try an online tutorial or Webinar.

 
Campus Libraries: Biomedical | Central | Divinity | Law | Management | Music | Peabody | Science & Engineering | Special Collections | TV News
Vanderbilt University | Phone Numbers/Addresses of Campus Libraries | Privacy Policy
Jean and Alexander Heard Library, 419 21st Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37203-2427
Telephone 615-322-7100 | Fax 615-343-8279
Description

  Loading content... please wait