Vanderbilt University Heard Library
 
Admin Sign In 

Databases for Chemists and Chemical Engineers 

A collection of databases for locating articles, physical and chemical properties, spectra and other information of interest to chemists and chemical engineers. Many of the databases are limited to Vanderbilt faculty, students and staff.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/chembase  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

C&E News Feed


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Acorn

Acorn

Advanced Search | My Account

 

 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the database guide for chemists and chemical engineers. Check back for news of new resources.

Reaxys Arrives.

Reaxys is a database combining the content of three familiar databases, CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database. It includes chemical reactions, chemical substances and measured substance property data from selected core chemistry journals from 1771 forward and from selected organic chemistry patent publications. A web database, this information can now be searched from any computer by Vanderbilt students, faculty, and staff. New features include a synthesis planner and the ability to generate a structure query from a name. See Kitty Porter for a demo or if you would like to schedule an instructional session.

Sign up for the Web Version of SciFinder Scholar

The old client software is no longer being updated or supported by Chemical Abstracts Service. All their research and development dollars are going into the new Web version. Each person has to register and choose a username and ID. Once this is done, you can access SciFinder, using the library database list, from any computer with a browser and internet connection. Because the web is now more current than the client and because the web offers easier and more secure off-campus use we are no longer making the client software available to new users.

We have to allocate our six concurrent user "seats" to the two interfaces. At this time we have 2 for the client and 4 for the web.  In January 2010, we will switch to a level of 5 for the web and 1 for the client which we will keep for the near future. When CAS decides to retire the client, we will switch the final seat to the web.

 To register for your personal Web SciFinder Scholar account go to http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/restricted/SciFinderScholar.html and follow the instructions. You must be on campus to do this.

Once you have completed the reqistration process, access SciFinder Scholar using the link on the Bibliographic and Patent Databases tab or at http://lib11.library.vanderbilt.edu/diglib/science.pl  Bookmarks to the sign-in page won't work off campus.

 

 

 

Profile

Profile ImageKitty Porter
Contact Info:
Science & Engineering Library
Stevenson Center 3218
(615) 343-7106
(615) 343-7249 fax

 

E-Journal Locator


  

Google Search

Search query:
 
Campus Libraries: Biomedical | Central | Divinity | Law | Management | Music | Peabody | Science & Engineering | Special Collections | TV News
Vanderbilt University | Phone Numbers/Addresses of Campus Libraries | Privacy Policy
Jean and Alexander Heard Library, 419 21st Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37203-2427
Telephone 615-322-7100 | Fax 615-343-8279
Description

  Loading content... please wait